Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Scots All Saints College Libraries (ASC): Medieval Japan

H J Richardson (ASC)

Useful Websites

Click on any of the links below for excellent information about Medieval Japan.

SHOGUN WAY OF LIFE

Medieval Japanese society was characterised by frequent warfare between rival Samurai warriors and a sophisticated social structure, similar to Medieval England. During this time, the Samurai were the most powerful social class and continued to dominate for over 200 years. 

Japan: Memoirs of a Secret Empire For almost three hundred years Japan's shoguns maintained domestic peace while they isolated the country from Western influence. 

Samurai and Bushido This weblink from the History Channel provides links to articles, videos, speeches and pictures from the Heian period (794-1185) to the end of the Feudal system in Japan. 

History Channel: Tokugawa Period and Meiji Restoration videos This weblink provides embedded videos on the Tokugawa period (1603-1868) and the Meiji Restoration (1868) by the History Channel.

Britannica: Shogunate This entry by Britannica school details the period of the shogunate.

Feudal Japan - 1185CE to 1868CE This weblink outlines life in Japan once it was no longer ruled by an Emperor.

The Four-Tiered Class System in Feudal Japan This is a good resource outlining the different roles of people in Feudal Japan. Follow the links on the right to explore further information.

Japan's Shoguns Keep Everyone in their Place This weblink by ABC Education includes a video detailing the social classes in shogunate Japan. 

The Rise of the Samuari

Who were the Shoguns

Feudalism in Japan

The Age of the Warrior

Japan Under the Shoguns: 1185-1853

Decline of the Tokugawa

Edo Japan, A Virtual Tour

Feudalism in Japan and Europe

Japan under the Shoguns

Feudal System in Japan

Samurai

Samurai    An overview of samurais in Japan.

What Is Bushido?    An explanation of the "warrior code" followed by samurais

What were the Ronin?   Ronin were samurais without loyalty to a Daimyo

Samurai    Information about the samurai. Includes information about their artistic side.

Samurai Archives

Shogunate Japan

Referencing and Bibliographies

It is important to always acknowledge the work of others.

When you conduct research and gather information, make sure you keep a record of your sources to include in a bibliography or reference list. At Scots All Saints we use the Harvard system of referencing. 

For help to create a bibliography using the Harvard system, check the Scots All Saints Referencing Guide available in the library or use the Online Referencing tool below.

Username: org   Password: pages